Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.

Https

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

information

We are making some changes to CLU-IN. If you have any feedback or questions, please contact us.

Share |
Connect |

About the Technology Innovation and Field Services Division

Technology Innovation and Field Services Division Staff Directory


TIFSD Immediate Office
Location: Washington, DC
Michael Scozzafava, Acting Division Director 202-566-2858 Scozzafava.MichaelE@epa.gov
Charlene Hedgepeth 202-566-0899 hedgepeth.charlene@epa.gov

Technology Integration and Information Branch
Location: Washington, DC
Barbara Charris, Acting Branch Chief 202-566-0945 charris.barbara@epa.gov
Michael Adam 202-566-0875 adam.michael@epa.gov
Jean Balent 202-566-0832 balent.jean@epa.gov
Nathan Barlet 202-566-0926 barlet.nathan@epa.gov
Kirby Biggs 202-823-3081 biggs.kirby@epa.gov
Renan Havill 202-566-2939 havill.renan@epa.gov
Cheryl Johnson 202-566-0861 johnson.cheryl@epa.gov
Carlos Pachon 202-566-0873 pachon.carlos@epa.gov
Christina Smith 202-566-0866 smith.christina@epa.gov

Technology Assessment Branch
Location: Washington, DC
Deb Cox, Acting Branch Chief 202-566-0946 cox.deborah@epa.gov
Jim Cummings 202-566-0868 cummings.james@epa.gov
Luci Dunnington 202-566-0925 dunnington.lucila@epa.gov
Cynthia Frickle 202-566-0927 frickle.cynthia@epa.gov
Michele Mahoney 202-566-0874 mahoney.michele@epa.gov

Analytical Services Branch
Location: Washington, DC
Shari Myer, Branch Chief 202-566-0865 myer.shari@epa.gov
Helen Britz 202-566-0867 britz.helen@epa.gov
Derrick Gambrah 202-566-0938 gambrah.derrick@epa.gov
Deborah Lacroix 202-566-0870 lacroix.deborah@epa.gov
Brett Moody 202-566-0949 moody.brett@epa.gov
Lucinda Taylor 202-566-0858 taylor.lucinda@epa.gov

Environmental Response Team
Location: Edison, NJ
Marc Greenberg, Chief 732-452-6413 greenberg.marc@epa.gov
Stephanie Wenning, Acting Deputy Chief 215-687-2958 wenning.stephanie@epa.gov
Gerald Ball 732-452-6408 ball.gerald@epa.gov
Stephen Blaze 732-906-6921 blaze.stephen@epa.gov
Stella Burchette 732-321-6726 burchette.sella@epa.gov
David Charters 732-906-6825 charters.davidw@epa.gov
Amy Dubois 732-321-6740 dubois.amy@epa.gov
David Edgerton 732-321-6751 edgerton.david@epa.gov
Sean Gavlas 732-321-6795 gavlas.sean@epa.gov
Scott Grossman 732-452-6407 grossman.scott@epa.gov
James Grundy 732-321-6781 grundy.james@epa.gov
Richard Henry 732-906-6987 henry.richard@epa.gov
Michael Hoppe 732-906-6908 hoppe.michael@epa.gov
Thomas Kady 732-906-6172 kady.thomas@epa.gov
David Kappelman 859-594-6540 kappelman.david@epa.gov
Brian Kovak 732-321-6609 kovak.brian@epa.gov
David Mickunas 919-541-4191 mickunas.dave@epa.gov
Gary Newhart 859-594-6553 newhart.gary@epa.gov
Kelly O’Neal 732-321-6761 oneal.kelly@epa.gov
Joseph Schaefer 732-906-6920 schaefer.joseph@epa.gov
Philip Solinski 732-321-6748 solinski.philip@epa.gov
Nanda Thalasila 732-321-6780 thalasila.nanda@epa.gov

Environmental Response Team - West
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Ramón Ortiz, Deputy Chief 702-278-4006 ortiz.ramon@epa.gov
Peter Boudreau 702-784-8018 boudreau.peter@epa.gov
Joseph Bundens 702-784-8015 bundens.joseph@epa.gov
Kara Epple 702-784-8008 epple.kara@epa.gov
Henry Gerard 702-784-8009 gerard.henry@epa.gov
Terrence Johnson 702-784-8022 johnson.terrence@epa.gov
Shelly Norland 702-784-8004 norland.shelly@epa.gov
Molly Patterson 702-784-8011 patterson.molly@epa.gov
Lynn Seel 702-784-8012 seel.evelyn@epa.gov
Fred Stroud 702-784-8007 stroud.fred@epa.gov
Return to top

Subject Matter Overview

1,4-Dioxane Deb Cox
Advanced Monitoring (21M2) Michael Adam
Brownfields Carlos Pachon, Jean Balent
Building the Technical Capacity of Small and Disadvantaged Businesses Carlos Pachon
CLU-IN Social Media Initiatives Jean Balent
CLU-IN Website Jean Balent, Michael Adam
Chemical Oxidation - In Situ Michael Adam
Combined Remedies Jim Cummings
Cost and Performance Jim Cummings
DNAPL Removal or Treatment Jim Cummings
Data Management Michael Adam
Decision Support Tools Michael Adam, Carlos Pachon
Ecological Revitalization Michele Mahoney
Global Efforts to Advance Remediation at Contaminated Sites Carlos Pachon
Green Remediation Carlos Pachon
High-Resolution Site Characterization Carlos Pachon
Internet Seminars Jean Balent, Michael Adam
Manufactured Gas Plants Jim Cummings
Mass Flux Measurement Jim Cummings
Mining Sites Michele Mahoney
NAPLS (light and dense) Jim Cummings
Nanomaterials Michael Adam, Jean Balent
Optimization Kirby Biggs
Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substance (PFAS) Remediation Michael Adam, Jean Balent
Perchlorate Cynthia Frickle
Phytotechnologies Michele Mahoney
Project Team Websites Jean Balent
RCRA Technical Support Michael Adam
SVE (with enhancements) Jim Cummings
Soil Amendments Michele Mahoney
Soil Vapor Extraction Optimization Jim Cummings
Soil Washing Jim Cummings
Superfund Remedy Report Carlos Pachon
Surfactant or Cosolvent Flushing Jim Cummings
TIFSD Outreach - Marketing Carlos Pachon
TechDirect Jean Balent
Technical Support Project (Groundwater Forum, Engineering Forum, Fed Facilities Forum) Cynthia Frickle
Thermal Desorption Jim Cummings
Thermal Treatment - In Situ Jim Cummings
Training Carlos Pachon, Barbara Charris
Triad Support Carlos Pachon
Vapor Intrusion Michael Adam
Vendor/Commercialization Support Carlos Pachon
Wood Treater Sites Jim Cummings
Return to top

Other Web Sites Supported by the Technology Innovation and Field Services Division

The Training Exchange (Trainex)

The Training Exchange website (Trainex) is designed to provide a wide range of training information to EPA, other federal agency, state, tribal, and local staff involved in hazardous waste management and remediation. Trainex focuses on free training directed to federal and state staff. This site includes training schedules for deliveries of many courses, both classroom and Internet-based.

EPA works in partnership with organizations, such as the Interstate Technology Regulatory Council (ITRC), and other agencies, such as the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), to offer training relevant to hazardous waste remediation, site characterization, risk assessment, emergency response, site/incident management, counter-terrorism, and the community's role in site management and cleanup.

Superfund Analytical Services/Contract Laboratory Program (CLP)

The Analytical Services Branch (ASB), formerly the Analytical Operations/Data Quality Center, has broadened its mission and is responsible for managing the Contract Laboratory Program (CLP) for routine analytical services; developing new analytical services for other analyses such as dioxin and asbestos; providing quality assurance services for CLP and non-CLP data; developing and maintaining information technology (IT) tools for CLP and non-CLP data; and promoting field analytics and direct push technologies for sampling.

Scribe: Environmental Field Data Capture

Scribe is a software tool developed by the USEPA's Environmental Response Team (ERT) to assist in the process of managing environmental data. Scribe captures sampling, observational, and monitoring field data. Examples of Scribe field tasks include Soil Sampling, Water Sampling, Air Sampling and Biota Sampling. Scribe can import electronic data including Analytical Lab Result data (EDD) and Sampling Location data such as GPS. Scribe supports handheld extensions, Scriblets, to capture and import sampling and monitoring data collected on handheld PDAs.

Federal Remediation Technologies Roundtable

The mission of the Roundtable is to exchange information and provide a forum for joint activity regarding the development and demonstration of innovative technologies for hazardous waste site remediation. The exchange systhesizes the technical knowledge that Federal Agenices have compiled and provides a more comprehensive record of performance and cost. Members include major developers and users of these technologies: Department of Defense: U.S. Army, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, U.S. Navy, U.S. Air Force, U.S. Department of Energy, Department of the Interior, and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

Triad Resource Center Web Site

This web site serves as the official web site for the Triad approach. EPA and a multiagency partnership developed this web site to provide one-stop-shopping for Triad information, case studies, training opportunities, and news.

EPA Brownfields and Land Revitalization Technology Support Center

Coordinated through EPA's Technology Innovation and Field Services Division, the Brownfields and Land Revitalization Technology Support Center ensures that Brownfields decision makers are aware of the full range of technologies available to make informed or "smart" technology decisions for their sites. The Brownfields Center provides a readily accessible resource for unbiased assessments and supporting information on options relevant to specific sites. The Center also provides a technology-oriented review process for investigation and clean-up plans for these sites. The project also provides information about other available support activities, such as those conducted by the Technical Assistance to Brownfields (TAB) Program located at the five regional Hazardous Substance Research Centers. Direct support is available to EPA regional staff, state staff, and local governments.

Remediation Technologies Development Forum (RTDF)

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) established the Remediation Technologies Development Forum (RTDF) in 1992 to enhance the development and application of innovative hazardous waste characterization and treatment technologies. Eight self-managed RTDF Action Teams have formed over the years. The last Action Team was established in 2001 and several teams have completed, or are no longer actively involved, in field demonstrations of new technologies. Therefore, as of the end of June 2006, active maintenance of the RTDF web site will no longer be conducted. However, the web site, including all RTDF products, will be available and minor updates will be made on an as needed basis.

EPA On-Scene Coordinators

This site is intended to be a tool to help streamline the work of OSCs and provide them a forum to share information and lessons learned with OSCs around the country.

U.S. EPA Technical Support Project

Provides technical assistance to Regional Remedial Project Managers, Corrective Action Staff, and On-Scene Coordinators. The Project consists of a network of Regional Forums and specialized Technical Support Centers located in ORD and the Office of Radiation Programs (ORP) laboratories, and OLEM's Environmental Response Team.

For more information, please contact Deb Cox, Technology Assessment Branch, 202-566-0946, cox.deborah@epa.gov.

Technologies for Cleaning Up Contaminated Sites Area on EPA's Web Site

The Clean Up Technologies Area provides information about characterization and treatment technologies for the hazardous waste remediation community. It offers technology selection tools and describes programs, organizations, publications for federal and state personnel, consulting engineers, technology developers and vendors, remediation contractors, researchers, community groups, and individual citizens. Our goal is to create an information support net for all technology decision makers who address contamination of soil or groundwater.